Monday, 6 December 2010

A Labour Of Love

We have more great UK hip-hop for you today, with UK emcee Chuks Agu dropping his new mixtape "Labour Of Love Part I: The Passion Project" on his website.

His style is distinctly rooted in british culture and the beats transform and shapeshift from the modern 808's and sparse basslines of "Holy Ghost" to the horns and soulful snaps on "You Can Do it Too".

Another interesting and divisive aspect of Chuks, and the mixtape, is that towards the end (and intermittently throughout the mixtape) he speaks of christian values and how they affect his life. This adds an extra layer of emotional attachment to the lyrics, lending him a chance to tackle more introspective content.

Go to for information on the man himself and the brand new video for single "Worried", and either play the music from the section below and follow the download links or go straight to to check it out. Enjoy!

Wednesday, 1 December 2010

Orion's Belt Shines

From one UK heavyweight to another, M9 has released a mixtape which rivals ANYTHING (yes, even the incredible Isis Papers Mixtape that his Kush cohort Cyrus Malachi released earlier in the year!) that has came from our shores this year, and thanks to Hypedog its here for your pleasure! The link itself is from M9's own website, and the mixtape is released to build hype and anticipation for his forthcoming solo LP, which is bound to be an absolute gem of an album.

Until that arrives, enjoy this journey into the dark side of hip-hop, with one of UK hip-hop's most potent lyrical duos trading verses on the regular...Cyrus in the passenger seat and Melanin 9 up front in the driver's seat. Strap your seatbelt in for the ride because they're going in cold.


01 Intro (produced by Munoz cuts by DJ Roast)
02 Light Years
03 Il Padrino
04 Mont Blanc (produced by Anatomy)
05 When Brothers Die (produced by Chemo)
06 Elijah
07 Spritual Scrolls
08 Black Box (Feat. Cyrus Malachi & Blasphemy cuts by Evil Ed)
09 Why (Feat. Cyrus Malachi)
10 Black Widow (Feat. Blasphemy & Cyrus Malachi)
11 Shot
12 Skit
13 Straight Live (Produced By Anatomy)
14 Tug The Rope (Jon Phonics Remix)
15 False Ego
16 Black Sapphire Pt2 (Feat. Cyrus Malachi produced by Munoz)
17 Voice Of A Child Torn (Feat. Triple Darkness produced by Beat Buthcha)
18 The Book (Bonus)

Iron Man

Iron Braydz, one of the true UK underground hip-hop heavyweights, has made a bold move to re-release his album from earlier this year "Devil May Cry" for free on his website. The album came out to huge appraisal, even getting plaudits from Wu-Tang Clan's RZA for its hard-hitting and edgy sound.

In fact, the plaudits are not surprisingly considering the Wu-esque soundscapes that bump and bounce through Devil may Cry from start to finish. The lyrics are cold, the beats are colder, and the album works incredibly as a single piece of art.

Even the guest emcees are picked out spectacularly, with M9 & Cyrus Malachi (both members of Orphans of Kush...a UK group who had one of the best albums of 2009) and US Stones Throw emcee Guilty Simpson all turning in big verses.

The whole album was executive produced and overseen by Braydz himself and mastered by top producer Baby J, and they handpicked beats from Braydz, Lewis Parker, Chemo, Morph Beats & Proppa.

So, go back to the turn of the year and relive a modern day classic, remembering how powerful hip-hop can be when its done right. Unfortunately we've not had a huge amount to shout about in the UK underground hip-hop scene this year in terms of great releases (save for a few standouts), but this is an example of what we can do. Enjoy every minute.

To download, either go to or click on the album title below (same link either way) and it'll take you direct to the download section on the official website, complete with a video for "Golden Legacy". Just enter your email address and it'll send the download link straight to you!

Iron Braydz - Devil May Cry (2009)

1. Intro
2. Devil's Death Day (feat. M9)
3. Death Machine
4. Hang
5. Golden Legacy
6. L's Formation
7. Shattered Dreams (feat. Cyrus Malachi)
8. Savin Artillery (feat. Guilty Simpson & Sav Killz)
9. Lost
10. Magic Man, Where's The Sun?
11. Feelings From The Heart
12. Crushed Mooncraters
13. Golden Legacy (09 Mentality Remix)