Wednesday, 1 December 2010

Iron Man

Iron Braydz, one of the true UK underground hip-hop heavyweights, has made a bold move to re-release his album from earlier this year "Devil May Cry" for free on his website. The album came out to huge appraisal, even getting plaudits from Wu-Tang Clan's RZA for its hard-hitting and edgy sound.

In fact, the plaudits are not surprisingly considering the Wu-esque soundscapes that bump and bounce through Devil may Cry from start to finish. The lyrics are cold, the beats are colder, and the album works incredibly as a single piece of art.

Even the guest emcees are picked out spectacularly, with M9 & Cyrus Malachi (both members of Orphans of Kush...a UK group who had one of the best albums of 2009) and US Stones Throw emcee Guilty Simpson all turning in big verses.

The whole album was executive produced and overseen by Braydz himself and mastered by top producer Baby J, and they handpicked beats from Braydz, Lewis Parker, Chemo, Morph Beats & Proppa.

So, go back to the turn of the year and relive a modern day classic, remembering how powerful hip-hop can be when its done right. Unfortunately we've not had a huge amount to shout about in the UK underground hip-hop scene this year in terms of great releases (save for a few standouts), but this is an example of what we can do. Enjoy every minute.

To download, either go to or click on the album title below (same link either way) and it'll take you direct to the download section on the official website, complete with a video for "Golden Legacy". Just enter your email address and it'll send the download link straight to you!

Iron Braydz - Devil May Cry (2009)

1. Intro
2. Devil's Death Day (feat. M9)
3. Death Machine
4. Hang
5. Golden Legacy
6. L's Formation
7. Shattered Dreams (feat. Cyrus Malachi)
8. Savin Artillery (feat. Guilty Simpson & Sav Killz)
9. Lost
10. Magic Man, Where's The Sun?
11. Feelings From The Heart
12. Crushed Mooncraters
13. Golden Legacy (09 Mentality Remix)

No comments: