Friday, 23 July 2010

Northern Author Mixtapes Vol. IV

Here we are with the fourth instalment of Northern Author's Mixtape series. This one was actually made in about 2002/3 but most of the songs on it are from years previous to that, making it almost entirely a 90s classic compilation.

I think I must have been in Sixth Form when I made this one, probably first year, when I was 16/17 years old, more than likely listening to it on the fabled discman on the bus trips into town. Back in the school days one of the best parts of the usual day was the trip to and from sixth form on the bus, just getting the opportunity to shut out the world and listen to "Shit Iz Real" by Black Durham. To quote Chris Morris, it was disgusting bliss.

We've got Black Moon, Q-Tip, Big L, Craig Mack & Organized Konfusion alongside many more, with a turntablist cut in there featuring Rhettmatic, Cut Chemist, Kid Koala, Radar & ShortKut, and a few curveballs such as K-Os and the two Crooklyn Dodgers classics.

More mixtapes to come in the series, but from the download amount of the last few I can tell theyre being appreciated so I'll keep them coming, like a porn fluffer.

Northern Author Mixtape Vol. IV

1. Craig Mack (feat. Biggie, LL Cool J, Busta Rhymes & Rampage) - Flava In Ya Ear (Remix)
2. Black Moon - I Gotcha Opin (Remix)
3. Heltah Skeltah & OGC (The Fab Five) - Lefluh Leflah Eshkoshka
4. Organized Konfusion (feat. Large Professor) - Stress (Extra P Remix)
5. Rahzel (feat. Q-Tip) - To The Beat
6. Black Moon - Who Got Da Props?
7. Slum Village - Things You Do
8. Q-Tip & Common Sense - The Remedy
9. Buckshot, Special Ed & Masta Ace - Crooklyn Dodgers
10. Big L - Da Graveyard
11. Black Moon - Shit Iz Real
12. Gang Starr - New York Niggas
13. Cut Chemist, Kid Koala, ShortKut, Radar & Rhettmatic - Tale of 5 Cities
14. Ozomatli (feat. Cut Chemist & Chali 2Na) - The Cut Chemist Suite
15. Organized Konfusion - Stray Bullet
16. Chubb Rock, OC & Jeru Tha Damaja - Return Of The Crooklyn Dodgers
17. Smif-N-Wessun - Wreckognize (Remix)
18. K-Os - Heaven Only Knows

No comments: